Meander Travel - Kusadasi Meander Travel - Kusadasi
 

   Old Olympic Stadium - Panathenaic Stadium of Athens

It was originally a natural hollow part of the ground between the two hills of Agra and Ardettos, over Ilissos river. It was transformed into a stadium by Lykourgos in 330-329 BC for the athletic competitions of the Great Panathinaea Festivities. Between 140 and 144 AD, Herodes Atticus restored the Stadium, giving it the form that was found at the 1870 excavation: the horseshoe construction with a track 204,07 meters long and 33,35 meters wide. Old Olympic Stadium - Panathenaic Stadium of Athens
Old Olympic Stadium - Panathenaic Stadium of Athens It is believed that the Stadium had a seating capacity of 50.000 people. Separating scales were built between the tiers and on the base of the sphendone there was a portico with Doric-style columns; another portico was placed in the stadium's facade. Herodes possibly restored also the Ilissos river bridge on the Stadium's entrance, making it larger and adding three archways on its base. 
The bridge was standing there up to 1778 and a part of it was excavated in 1958. At the Roman times, the Stadium was used as an arena, with the addition of a semi-circular wall on the north that was corresponding to the sphendone of the southern side. The modern times restoration of the Stadium was conducted by G. Averof by the end of the 19th century for the first Olympic Games that were reborn again in 1896.   Old Olympic Stadium - Panathenaic Stadium of Athens
   

 

 

 
Select a Category

Newsletter Subscription

About Old Olympic Stadium


Follow Meander Travel on Facebook Follow Meander Travel on Twitter Follow Meander Travel on Flickr Follow Meander Travel on Youtube Follow Meander Travel on Pinterest Follow Meander Travel on Google Plus Follow Meander Travel on Tumblr Follow Meander Travel on Instagram

 

(c) 2017 Meander Travel, all rights reserved.
Meander Travel® is registered trademark of Meander Turizm A.S. in Turkey.

Privacy Policy - Terms of Use